Skip to content
March 27, 2008 / Curvety

Curvety on BBC Radio Tees

This morning I had the pleasure of appearing on BBC Radio Tees to talk about Curvety & my views on Chloe Marshall, the first ever size 16 Miss England finalist.

It was a pleasure to put my opinions across to the North of England, and do my little bit in promoting real women in the fashion and modelling industries.

Although very pleased, I am also a little surprised by the effect Chloe has had on the public. For the first time in as long as I can remember it seems that the more curvy among us have someone to get behind and support in an industry usually lacking in larger representatives. It also seems to have given curvy women a bit of a boost, and the energy to stand up and say ‘I’m proud of who I am’.

In my opinion one of the reasons is that it is the first time a real size women has appeared in DIRECT competition (and won) to traditional entrants – rather than in a special ‘plus size’ alternative competition.

As i’ve said before, Chloe looks to be a perfect role model. She should be very proud of the stir she has caused!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jim Gardner / Apr 3 2008 8:34 am

    Hey, great to see another Northerner blogger talking about this subject. I’m from Stockton on Tees. I saw an article, linked below to my blog, on (of all places) the Daily Mail website and my blood boiled that Chloe Marshall is being accused of being a bad role model because she looks normal.

    Maybe we can pool our resources on this and alert the blog-o-sphere to the issue – and perhaps play a small part in ending this “emaciated is beautiful”, dangerous nonsense once and for all.

    http://howgoodisthat.wordpress.com/2008/04/03/this-is-chloe-marshall-and-i-think-shes-beautiful/

  2. Sexy at any Size / May 16 2008 2:19 pm

    Good to find kindred souls here! I also think it is wonderful that Chloe Marshall is a proud and beautiful representative of real women everywhere, and is making a stand in a world that seems obsessed with stick insects!

Trackbacks

  1. This is Chloe Marshall and I think she’s beautiful « How good is that?

Leave a Reply

