Skip to content
April 11, 2007 / Curvety

War of the sizes – Fat V Skinny

The Daily Mail has recently asked two women to pose for pictures, one is a size 0 (UK size 4) and the other is an 18, in the hope of raising awareness of the increasing weight issues in the UK today.

So – Is media coverage of size zero celebrities directly responsible for the increase in eating disorders in young girls? Or is the steady rise in obesity a far more worrying problem?

Both women appear to eat a healthy balanced diet but nutritionist Fiona Hunter believes that the size zero model – Sasha Larner is eating less than half of the recommended daily calorie intake, and the majority of these are made up of biscuits & alcohol. Fiona had higher praise for the well balanced diet of Mikyla Dodd of Hollyoaks & Celebrity fit club fame.

Both women claim to be happy with their weight, although Mikyla has recently slimmed down from 19st 2lb to 15st 7lb, losing 44lb when taking part in Celebrity fit club. She says:

‘I am perfectly content with my lot. If I never lose another pound, I will be happy. I am a desirable woman. I’ve got great boobs and my last boyfriend said I had a nice bum. I’ve certainly got no inhibitions when it comes to the bedroom. I know for a fact that you don’t have to be slim to be sexy. I feel much better now that I’ve lost some weight – but I’d never want to be a size zero. Pictures of people like Nicole Richie in her swimwear are so worrying. They are all skin and bone, and look as though they might snap.’

Read the full article here

If you’re happy with your curves then dress to impress in the sexy maya chiffon dress from igigi. It can be purchased from UK plus size clothing store Curvety.com

 

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Gabrielle / Mar 5 2008 11:29 pm

    i would love to be that skinny. (the onle on the left) i’m like a whole size bigger than her. i am so fat.

  2. bergebabe / Mar 6 2008 1:03 pm

    I allowed the comment from Gabrielle to prove a point – the public image is seriously effecting womens perception of what looks good – Gabrielle, if at a UK size 6 you feel fat you seriously need to get some help and learn to accept yourself as the beautiful woman you are. You will end up very unhappy, and probably very ill if you don’t wise up to the dangers of extreme skinniness and the lengths women will go to to reach such unrealistic & unnecessary goals.

  3. Andrew / Mar 21 2008 12:09 am

    Ok, was that Gabrielle’s post supposed to be a joke ? You CANNOT mean something like that. Why are these ppl doing this to themselves ? If education had this much coverage this would not happen. “Naturally gazelle looking” models my ass. These ppl are sick!

  4. Miss Miggins / Jul 3 2008 8:52 pm

    You know.. Its really quite sick ^^’ as i have come to the conclusion, that very thin women look like very tall 5 year olds. This overly thin fashion could be responsable for more than just annorexcia or bumelia (as well as obeasity and depression and insecurity..etc) but to tell the world that these women who have nothing womanly about them, that look under-developed, are what everyone should work hard to be like? That people have to punnish themseves to be an un-natural shape? In my opinion this insane unnessecery idea born from the media has caused unbelievable problems for society.. But anyway.. Its horrible to think that when women were not born to be stick thin, and were ment to naturally have a little puppy fat, they are being pressured to change what they were naturally supposed to be. It causes horrible problems for us growing up. I finally realised after years of hating myself and believing i had to change, its okay to be who you are. As long as your BMI is not over 30, you have no serious health risks. I am a size 16 – 18, and you know what? I love it! And my boyfriend does too! Everyone should be happy with their body, bodies come naturally in all different sizes. If you work too hard to go out of the healthy range of weight you should be, it’l cause you emotional as well as physical problems, and it means less to people than you think it does..

  5. carly / Jan 26 2009 5:45 pm

    Gabrielle. Skinny Is Nothing Being Skinny Doesnt Do Nothing Except GEt You Clothes That Fit. If Your A Size 16+ I Think Your Not FAT Curvy More Like. THe Word Fat Is Too Ugly. And Being Size 0 Is Anorexia tbhh. ill One tbhh

  6. dave / Jul 8 2009 5:35 am

    my wife is a “plus size” woman and i love to see her in sexy or no clothing i hate thin women i had a thin girlfriend once and i felt like i was going to break her when i held her but my wife as i dont think i gonna break her makes her even hotter

  7. Shay / Dec 24 2010 8:40 pm

    Oh god. I am skinnier than the girl on the left. How? Fast metabolism, small bones, and I’m very tall. Not anorexic. You should all be ashamed of yourselves, calling people anorexic like this. It’s hurtful to call people fat, right? So why is it any better to call people anorexic? For once I’d like to go to a restaurant, eat until I’m full, and leave without getting weird glances from people because I didn’t finish my whole meal. My ribs show. My BMI is 12.6. I was born this way. I eat like fuck, I hate veggies, I love meat, I love sweets. I can’t fucking help it if I stay skinny!!!! Please, just stop judging other people for one fucking second!!!

Leave a Reply

